Kilmacanogue History Society
logo kilmacanogue
About Us
Past Meetings
Local Lore


The Kilmacanogue History Society has been in existence since 1997. The initial idea of our founder and early Chairman, the late Tom Mulligan, was enthusiastically supported by archivist Ted Crowley and by Dairine Nuttall as secretary. Others to give great support at the start were Rory O'Brien, Terry Harvey, PJ Roche, Kevin O'Toole, Ann Crowley, Peigin MacAllister and Bessie Doyle. These were later joined by Redmond O'Hanlon and Norman Colin.
Early presenters included the late Bob Smith and Joe Loughman, and also Jim Scannell, Rob Goodbody, Chris Corlett, Ray Cranley, Moira Byrne and John Donnelly. John Callan long time President of the Enniskerry History Society was always on hand for advice.
Development of the Society was intermittent in the early years with many highs and some lows,but in recent years growth has been steady. The focus of the Society is on local history, and with a strong team and excellent support it has become a recognised part of the Kilmacanogue community.

Present Committee:Members  
Chairman Tommy O'Rourke Ann Cranny 
Secretary Bat Masterson Dermot Cranny 
PRO Dairine Nuttall John Kelly 
Treasurer Gerry Lavery Pat O'Connell 
  Tony Carroll 
Peggy Barradel
Larry Mooney

We hold monthly meetings, from October to May, and supplement these with a summer day-trip to places of interest, and a few half-day local outings.

Visits over the recent years have been to:
Ballymore Eustace Waterworks & Russborough House

Emo Court/Roscrea Castle/Haywood
Mount Stewart
Newbridge House/Skerries
Stokestown House
Ros Tapestry/Dunbrody/Kennedy Arboretum
National Stud/Japanese Gardens & Castletown House
outing castlestown
Birr Castle
outing Birr castle

We welcome all as members and promise an interesting programme.

Top Of Page
  ©Kilmacanogue History Society